Hello, I recently had a food intolerance test and one of the food listed was Oatmeal. But it didn't state Oat Bran or Oat flour. Would I have to avoid these as well?

Hello and thank you for submitting your question!

 

Oatmeal, oat bran and oat flour are all made from oat grains. Similar to oatmeal, oat flour can be made from different variations of oats, including steel-cut or rolled. Oat bran is the outer layer of oats that contains fiber and vitamins. Most of the bran stays intact in steel-cut oats; however, most of the bran is removed during the processing of rolled oats.

 

Since all three are products of oat grains, it could be possible that oatmeal may contain the nutrients or food properties that you are sensitive to. Based on your food intolerance test, it may be safer for you to avoid all oat products. If you haven’t done so already, I encourage you to consult with your doctor or primary healthcare provider to validate your test results, which can help you narrow down foods that your body can tolerate and properly digest.

 

Check out our Discover Foods page to learn more about oats and explore Other Grains that work for you!  

 

Hope this helps!

 

Category: